About me

Welcome to my page. Thanks for taking the time to stop by. If you find something you like please follow me and spread the word. I'm just starting out so bear with me.
Let me start with a small disclaimer: Yes, I homeschool, No I am not perfect. When I have a chance to write, I'm usually multi-tasking and if I took the time to ensure there were no errors I would never have a post done. Please glance over them and chuckle a little on the inside as I am probably typing while nursing my 4 mo old, listening to the kids, AND making a meal :)

Okay on with the about me:
I'm Shelley. Married to the love of my life, Jerry. We've been married since 1996 and we were together for 3 years prior to that. We have 5 AMAZING children together. Maria born in 98, Connor 01, Rebecca 03, Zoey 08 and Lilly born in 2010. We also have a black lab/mix named Suzy. Jerry joined the Marine Corps right out of high school and we were married a year after that. We have lived in California, Alabama and Hawaii and now we are back to our home state of Illinois. After 13years of the Marine Corps life we are now back home where he works at Caterpillar as a NDI tech. I have been blessed with the privilege to stay home with the children.
I come from a big family. I have seven sisters, yes 7 and yes all girls. I am the 4th child. The sisters all get along very well and we enjoy hanging out together. We all have our differences but seem to be able to get along just fine.
I don't have a lot of me time but when I do: I enjoy video games, watching movies with the kids, I'm trying to learn to knit (any help here?), I like playing board games, I like to have get togethers with my family, especially at my house because I am a bit of a homebody....okay okay so I love being at home. I don't like going to other people's houses. I don't know why, I'm just weird I guess.
As a mom, I'm kind of a big ole hodge podge. I didn't have a homebirth, I respect them and find them fascinating but I'm a baby and want drugs. I breastfeed with child led weaning, we co-sleep, I cloth diaper (new to this), I love to wear my baby (I like wraps), we homeschool, we do a lot together. I love being with my family and would rather be with them then anything. I hold my babies....ALL the time. Literally our 4 month old is touched by me, probably 20-22 hours of the day. If I am not holding her or sleeping with her, then she is being held by her dad or a sibling. She is just now starting to play on the floor but has someone down there with her, interacting. Not all agree with this type of parenting and feel I am "spoiling" my child but I say to each his own. We are happy and and that is all that matters.
I started this blog as a way to connect with others. I enjoy putting my thoughts down, it's relaxing and challenging all at the same time. I enjoy reading blogs, so if you have one let me know so I can check it out.
Anything else you want to know about me...just ask. Anything you want me to write about....just ask.